STRUCTUAL FAILURE

You know the drill..

Moderators: Redneck_Randy, badmoonrising, lakerunner

MOHAVEMAN1

STRUCTUAL FAILURE

#1 Post by MOHAVEMAN1 » Sun Jun 07, 2015 10:26 am

I am new to this, but i have i believe i have a serious problem with my PB. Shes a 2011 party barge 24 with 115 merc 4 stroke. Toon has maybe 40 hrs on it bought it brand new Aug 2011 . First off since first time out the floor leaks terrible up thru carpet. A factory problem for sure but now, discovered this morning a new and bigger problem. Back by stern where shims are used for leveling ( i will say the keel section, where gas tank sits in} the last cross member where shims are bolted down, has completely snap thru and broken thru aluminun cross member on both sides and the cross member it self is serperating and spliting in half the whole lenght in side where the gas tank sits. I am certain this a structual failure and shud be warrenty work by tracker dealer and 100 % covered. Also i would think the floor would have to comejust to repair that cross member as well to fix leaky floor and carpet whick also facorty defect PB is srill under 5 yr warrenty!!!!! any thoughts on this issue be much appreciated tnx 53 POWELL steve

OldePharte

Re: STRUCTUAL FAILURE

#2 Post by OldePharte » Sun Jun 07, 2015 11:08 am

First off, photos always help with problem solving.

Wet carpeting is not normally a failure. Pontoons with no underskinning are notorious for what you described. The crossmembers are at the wood floor joints and water will get pushed up and through to the carpet.

The back issue is a whole 'nuther story.
'09 Neptoon Sport 25TT SunLounger w/150 Honda

What happens at the lake stays at the lake. Unless I have my camera handy.

MOHAVEMAN1

#3 Post by MOHAVEMAN1 » Sun Jun 07, 2015 12:50 pm