Looking for 1st pontoon and need advice

You know the drill..

Moderators: Redneck_Randy, badmoonrising, lakerunner

Lamajama

Looking for 1st pontoon and need advice

#1 Post by Lamajama » Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:28 am

Hey everyone,

A total newbie to pontoon boats but have been asking current owners (limited number up here) for advice so thought I would join this site and get even more advice.

The Fall up here (Canada) is the best time to buy used. It's fresh water only on Shuswap Lake and want low maintenance/easy winterization etc.

I'm looking for around 24 feet but am flexible obviously and want low maintenance/easy winterization etc. This boat will be used by a number of different people
that may stay on our property occasionally so I would like some basic "idiot-proofing" in terms of operating - ie - gas and check the oil and away you go....

I'll tell you my budget but in Canada you'd have to remember prices are higher here by a longshot due to relatively low sales vs southern USA. That said
I think I'd be around the $25k mark and willing to buy a boat 5-8 years old (depending of course).

I actually live right on the Washington state border (Lake is 4 hours away) and have brought PWC's back from as far away as Oregon before so a USA boat is not a deal breaker despite
the currency exchange. I know even around Nevada and Arizona the boats are relatively plentiful but many have sun damage issues on upholstery etc. Unless I
get a screaming deal and the engine is in great shape (no work needed) I'd rather not have to dump money immediately into cosmetic stuff like new seats etc.

Obviously you can tell if the boat has been well looked after cosmetically but the engine is the biggest lack of knowledge for me. I already know to stay away from salt water-used boats...

Based on previous discussions I think I'd prefer a 4 stroke due to the low maintenance/longevity etc advantages.