buying my first pontoon,lost and need to tap the brain trust

You know the drill..

Moderators: Redneck_Randy, badmoonrising, lakerunner

hnicols

buying my first pontoon,lost and need to tap the brain trust

#1 Post by hnicols » Wed Jan 13, 2010 11:07 pm

Having reviewed some of the postings clear that the collective you know a lot so thought I would line up my questions and just say "help!"

Live in the Adirondacks (lake george and champlain) so a 4 -5 month boating season

I am new to boating (rented pontoons a couple of days each summer) and want a boat my son can ski from (occassionally) but that we will enjoy for easy fishing and fun. assume a tritoon makes most sense to get above 30 to 35 mph right?

hate noise, what is better I/O or 4 stroke outboard -- any particular disadvantage to one or the other besides sound? Really would like something that if I am cruising I could still talk and hear others talking

inclined toward something on the order of 25 foot -- so could host 8 to 10 adullts once in awhile -- big enough? or too big?

have seen bennington and like them (and the few I have been on) thoughts on the brand -- others I should prefer?

new or used?- could go either way (have been saving my pennies) but ussually prefer something that already has a few dents -- easier on my mind and cheaper that way -- or are pontoons sort of thing that where you buy used you just got someone elses headache?