Which Brand/Boat if it were you... Bently, Crest, Another???

Tell it like it is!

Moderators: Redneck_Randy, badmoonrising, lakerunner

pstilwell007

Which Brand/Boat if it were you... Bently, Crest, Another???

#1 Post by pstilwell007 » Sun Apr 19, 2015 5:43 pm

Hello All -

I am a complete newbie! 100% green and would love some sage advice! My wife and I have wanted a boat for the last three years, but we were not in a position to go for it. Well that has changed! We are both ready and excited! So far I have read lots of great info, and have gotten even more confused... We have been to a couple boat dealers and really liked the price point and look of the following boats. We live close to Hickory/Mooresville, NC and plan to boat on Lake Norman which according to Google is roughly 50 square miles. We want to purchase a new boat, but do not want to spend more than low to mid $20K range. So any and all thoughts would really be great and appreciated!!

One of the boats we liked was a Bently Cruise 22' with a 115 hp evinrude etec. It also has a cover, depth finder, and ski pole. Everything added up it came in at $26,000 - but no trailer. I am having some reservations about Bently due to some of things things you read online and even though looks pretty good, I want to make sure we are making a good decision.

Another boat we were looking at is a Crest I 22' - various engine options. It has the same basic setup for about the same cost. I found a lot of good things online about Crest and I didn't know if it was really that much better or not?

We are undecided on buying a trailer or just having it kept at the marina for us. It is kind of expensive to have it in wet storage, but it seems like it would be pretty convenient to just jump on it and go instead of loading & unloading.

So all that being said.... Any thoughts would be great! Would you guys suggest any other boats for that price range? Or is that size too big or just right for a bigger lake? Thanks in advance!!